The Bucket List

In recent years I have signed up to a couple of email groups and ‘liked’ a few Facebook pages that provide stories and quotes, little mindful ‘titbits’ if you will.  You know, the kind of thing that might give you a bit of food for thought, might stay with you rest of the day or, in some cases, might make you think ‘what is THAT all about?!’.  One that I read today did stick with me, it was:

‘A BIG LIFE CHANGE CAN BE SCARY, BUT YOU KNOW WHAT’S EVEN SCARIER? REGRET.’
(Buddhist Boot Camp)

I had been thinking about what the subject of my next blog should be, having had a few different ideas over the last week, and couldn’t decide which order I should post my ideas in, but reading that quote today made me decide that my bucket list blog was the way to go this week…

As some of you may well know, the ‘The Bucket List’ is a 2007 film starring Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman – the plot follows two terminally ill men on their road trip with a wish list of things to do before they ‘kick the bucket’.  The premise being to live life to the full, challenge yourself and not have regrets about what you should have/would have done, or wanted to do but didn’t get round to.

I have therefore started my own bucket list.  Some items are pretty universal and would no doubt appear on most people’s list…others are more personal to me, and some are plain random.  Here is my list so far:

Visit Canada
Do Route 66
Do a sky dive
Volunteer in Africa
Ride in a helicopter
Visit Alaska
Write a book
Stay up all night and watch the sun rise
Exhibit a piece of work that I have created
Do the London Moonwalk
Learn to ski
Sing one song on my own at karaoke (believe it or not this is possibly the biggest/scariest one for me!)
Visit the south of France
Learn and practice the art of face painting

This is by no means a final list of course…I’m sure I will add to it as I think of new things, or cross some off once they’re done.  I am looking forward to seeing how I progress with it…

What is/would be on your bucket list?

Until next time, love and lists, sm x

4 thoughts on “The Bucket List

  1. When you come to Canada we can go skiing on the Olympic slopes of whistler and then sing karaoke downtown somewhere. See 3 things in one trip!!!

Leave a Reply

