‘Sister’


I have just finished reading ‘Sister’ by Rosamund Lupton…the ‘Facebook Club’ virtual book club that I joined a couple of months ago seems to have fallen by the wayside, but I continue to read enthusiastically, as I have always done, and thought that this one warranted a review…

The basic story is: the main character, Beatrice, lives in New York and gets a call to say that her younger sister, Tess, is missing, so she gets on the first flight home to London.  As she learns more about her disappearance it becomes clear that there is much Beatrice didn’t know about her sister’s life, and so she sets about discovering the truth, despite the police, her fiancé and mother accepting that Tess has gone.

What I enjoyed most about the book was how the close relationship between the two sisters was portrayed…having a younger sister myself I could totally relate to it – from the idiosyncrasies of the language they use with each other (illustrated by flashbacks of past conversations and emails), shared secrets and a history that means nobody else can or ever will be as close to you or know you better.  It was an emotional read for me in places, as much for the sad story as the happy realisation that I am fortunate enough to have a special, unbreakable bond with my own sister.  Plus I could totally recognise myself in the sometimes bossy, highly strung Beatrice, and my sister in the carefree, live-in-the-moment Tess! (not now of course, when we were younger…no, definitely not now ;)).

What is also lovely is how much Beatrice learns from Tess, despite her not being there ‘in person’ in the story…during the course of investigating her disappearance she picks up some of Tess’s traits, and goes on quite a journey and transformation…again, something which I can very much relate to.

It is a story of twists and turns and, as I have mentioned before, I never seem to work out who the ‘villain’ is until I am presented with it in black and white in front of me…although I must admit to spoiling it for myself a few chapters ahead by flicking through and landing on the very page where it is revealed…does anyone else do this?!  The urge to do so overrides my willpower at times!!

So, in short I would recommend ‘Sister’ – a thoroughly good read which has particular resonance for those who have a special relationship with a sibling.

Until next time, love and lovely sisters, sm x

Leave a Reply

