A Dinner Date with Daddio

In line with my recent food/baking-related adventures, I had my Dad over to mine for dinner a little while to say thank you for all he has done recently, not least ‘de-tiling’ my whole bathroom, which I watched, ahem I mean helped him with (really though, I am much better at the clearing up rather than manual labour part…).

Anyway, I thought I would be adventurous and cook a ‘proper’ meal, by which I mean not a stir fry, fajitas out of a packet or a jacket potato, which are my usual offerings…No, I thought Dad deserved a bit of effort on my part in return for all of his. I know he likes fish but doesn’t get to eat it often, so I found an easy enough looking recipe for Lemon, Herb & Parmesan Crusted Fish on the BBC Good Food website (my current favourite place for fab food ideas)…And it really was easy enough in the end, it was just a matter of being prepared and getting the timing right. I served the fish (I chose cod) with roasted potatoes and Mediterranean vegetables (okay, I admit these were out of the packet – I’m not yet up to Nigella standards!) and green beans. I took photo evidence of the occasion too (below). Despite needing a better camera on my phone, and the abundance of beans covering most of the plate, I think you get the general idea…

Lemon, Herb & Parmesan Crusted Fish

Lemon, Herb & Parmesan Crusted Fish

Dad really enjoyed the meal…unknowingly I had actually managed to cook something similar to one of his favourite dishes that my Mum used to make, and the fact he thought it was good is praise indeed, since my Mum is a trained cook. It was nice to provide a little unexpected taste trip down memory lane for him.

For dessert I decided to attempt Red Velvet Cupcakes, purely because I have always wanted to see what all the fuss is about…I made them the evening before using a Hummingbird Bakery recipe that I found online and kept them in the fridge overnight due to the cream cheese in the frosting. They were great fun to make – when you put the two mixtures together the colour and texture has a lovely, velvety (who would have thought it?!) sheen to it…I also ended up covered in a fair bit of red food colouring – that stuff gets everywhere! The photos show them just iced, and then another with a cake cut in half and ready to eat…again, not the clearest of pictures, but you get the idea with regards to colour and texture. And, oh my, they tasted pretty good! A lovely, moist sponge, quite dense but complemented nicely by the light, tangy cream cheese frosting. I will be making these again! And I have put in a request with my Mum that she teaches me a few tricks of her trade…she has promised to show me her pastry skills as that is her speciality (I will hold you to it Mum, if you’re reading this!).

Frosted and ready to go...

Frosted and ready to go…

Ready to eat...

Ready to eat…

Oh, I do love a food-related update!

Until next time, love and good food, sm x

Leave a Reply

