Chocolate Dipped Coconut Macaroons

My oven is currently broken. Which is a disaster. Especially as I was due to make my much tried, tested and loved chocolate dipped coconut macaroons for a family Christmas gathering on Friday…I did make a batch before Christmas for a meeting at work and took photos, so in advance of my oven being looked at (and hopefully fixed) tomorrow, I thought the next best thing to baking and devouring their chewy loveliness was to blog about them and share the macaroon love.

I discovered these light and tasty little treats in one of my recipe books and have made them many times since, and they always seem to turn out well. They are so quick and easy-peasy to make, even a novice like myself can’t get them wrong it appears. And they are a perfect nice-but-not-too-naughty treat for any occasion…Here’s the recipe along with some photographic evidence of my pre-Christmas creations:

INGREDIENTS
1 egg white
90g caster sugar
2 teaspoons cornflour
90g dessicated coconut
65g dark cooking chocolate

~ Pre-heat the oven to 160C (315F, Gas 2-3). Line two baking trays with baking paper. Place the egg white in a small, dry bowl. Using electric beaters, beat until firm peaks form. Add the sugar gradually, beating constantly until the mixture is thick and glossy and all the sugar has dissolved. Add the cornflour and beat until the ingredients are just combined.

~ Add the coconut to the egg white mixture. Using a metal spoon, stir until just combined. Roll heaped teaspoons of the mixture into balls and place on the prepared trays. Bake for 15-18 minutes, or until the macaroons are lightly golden. Remove from the oven and leave to cool on the tray.

~ Place the chocolate in a small bowl over a pan of barely simmering water. When the chocolate is beginning to soften, stir until smooth. Dip the macaroons into the chocolate and allow the excess to drain. Place on a foil-lined tray and leave to set. Dust with cocoa powder if desired.

Freshly baked...

Freshly baked…

...ready to eat

…ready to eat

I was fortunate enough to receive ‘The Great British Bake Off’ book ‘How To Turn Everyday Bakes Into Showstoppers’ as a Christmas present from my lovely friends, Adam & Steve, as well as a gorgeous ceramic mixing bowl and some funky bright-coloured measuring spoons from my godmother, so I am hoping the oven is fixed soon as I am itching to put my very gratefully received gifts to good use!

Until next time, love and chewy coconut, sm x

Leave a Reply

