‘Room’

51FHAmfv-7L._AA160_[1]

Time for another book review…I have just finished reading ‘Room’, a Man Booker shortlisted novel by Emma Donoghue. This is the first book I have read on my new Kindle (biggest surprise Christmas present ever), so that was an experience in itself…just as an aside re the Kindle, I can see the appeal of having all your books in one place, especially if you’re out and about or travelling, but I do still enjoy reading/holding a good old-fashioned book…I guess I’m therefore not a total convert, but will certainly be making very good use of my much appreciated new toy.

So, Room…it’s written from the point of view of Jack who is five and lives as a prisoner with his Mum (‘Ma’) in a single, locked room. It is written in ‘child language’ which I wasn’t sure how I would get on with, but actually it didn’t take long at all to get to grips with. Having two nephews and a niece aged four and under, I found it endearing that it was written from a child’s point of view, as well as original and clever. You never lose Jack’s voice throughout the story, and it is rather captivating, you can’t help but fall in love with him.

The story starts with a detailed description of Jack and Ma’s daily routine… offering up clues along the way as to why they have found themselves in ‘Room’. I found it an intriguing and moving in equal measure. The story as a whole is heartbreaking and gripping, and I found it a dark yet compelling and thought provoking read.

I won’t say any more as I don’t want to spoil the story for anyone who decides to read it…as saying much more will certainly do. Definitely a read that I would recommend.

Until next time, love and powerful prose, sm x

Leave a Reply

