‘E’ is for Eat Pray Love

Cover_EatPrayLove

I am currently reading ‘Eat Pray Love’ by Elizabeth Gilbert for the second time. I loved the book so much the first time round that when the film came out at the cinema shortly after I finished it, I saw it twice. Even though the film is, in my opinion, nowhere near as good as the book, it is still well worth a watch.

The book is about the spiritual journey of self-discovery of the author, a travel writer, following a particularly challenging time in her life. She decides to spend a year travelling (something I did when I was 26/27 so I can relate to) and spends the first part of her year in Italy experiencing the art of pleasure, the next part discovering the art of devotion in India, and the final leg in Indonesia experiencing the art of balancing the two.

When I first read Eat Pray Love a couple of years ago, I ended up with the corners of many pages turned over that I wanted to remember and to revisit. Reading it for the second time, and being that bit further along in my own journey, I am getting even more from it.

I could write reams about each and every page of this book, but I don’t think that would make for particularly good blogging. So I decided to choose one of my turned-down pages at random and share one part of it. It did not surprise me at all that the following extract was the one that I was meant to post (Liz is in India and has met a man from Texas called Richard…she is talking about a guy she had an intense relationship with after her divorce):

LIZ…“…I think the reason it’s so hard for me to get over this guy is because I seriously believed David was my soul mate.”

RICHARD…“He probably was. Your problem is you don’t understand what that word means. People think your soul mate is your perfect fit, and that’s what everyone wants. But a true soul mate is a mirror, the person who shows you everything that’s holding you back, the person who brings you to your own attention so you can change your life. A true soul mate is probably the most important person you’ll ever meet, because they tear down your walls and smack you awake. But to live with your soul mate forever? Nah. Too painful. Soul mates, they come into your life just to reveal another layer of yourself to you, and then they leave. And thank God for it. Your problem is, you just can’t let this one go.”

Until tomorrow, love and soul mates, sm x

6 thoughts on “‘E’ is for Eat Pray Love

  1. Pingback: ‘G’ is for Gratitude | sharonmanship

  2. Pingback: sharonmanship

  3. Pingback: ‘X’ is for Reflex (kind of) | sharonmanship

  4. Pingback: A thought provoking visit to Aylesford Priory | sharonmanship

Leave a Reply

