‘F’ is for Four Noble Truths


I have heard about the Four Noble Truths but have not had a chance to look into them in any great detail, until now…I have long been intrigued by Buddhism, and whilst I don’t personally align myself to any particular ‘religion’, a lot of the Buddhist principles resonate with me.

The Four Noble Truths contain the essence of the Buddha’s teachings. It was these four principles that the Buddha came to understand during his meditation under the Bodhi tree:

1. The truth of suffering (Dukkha)
2. The truth of the origin of suffering (Samudāya)
3. The truth of the cessation of suffering (Nirodha)
4. The truth of the path to the cessation of suffering (Magga)

The first Noble Trust suggests a basic dissatisfaction pervading all forms of life, due to the fact that things are impermanent and constantly changing. It also indicates a lack of satisfaction, a sense of things never measuring up to our expectations or standards.

The second Noble Truth suggests that the root cause of suffering comes from ignorance (misunderstanding of the nature of reality; bewilderment), attachment (to pleasurable experiences) and aversion (a fear of getting what we don’t want, or not getting what we do want).

The third Noble Truth refers to the cessation of suffering. According to the Buddhist point of view, once we have developed a genuine understanding of the causes of suffering, such as craving and ignorance, then we can completely eradicate these causes and thus be free from suffering.

The fourth Noble Truth, in which the Buddha set out the Eightfold Path, is the way to achieve a release from suffering. It consists of: Right Understanding, Right Thought, Right Speech, Right Action, Right Livelihood, Right Effort, Right Mindfulness and Right Concentration.

Of course the above is very much an overview. The little work on the Four Noble Truths that I had the opportunity to do via my meditation group has certainly made me view things differently, and I think as a result of writing this post it is something I will look further into.

Until Monday (as Sundays are days off in this blog challenge!), love and truths, sm x


4 thoughts on “‘F’ is for Four Noble Truths

  1. I’ve studied these a couple times in college, and while interesting, I’m not so down with this whole “fading into oblivion” idea. If becoming one with the universe means losing the relationships I’ve established in this life, forget it! I’ll take my cheese and family elsewhere! Fascinating concepts though, right?

  2. I never heard of the Four Noble Truths, but I found this post to be quite interesting. I think that sometimes introspection, and understand the source of one’s problems is all you needs to cure certain kinds of symptoms and suffering.

    A-Z participant blogging from Elise Fallson

    • Thanks for reading and for the comment! It is interesting…I wouldn’t say I buy in wholly, but I am finding the A-Z Challenge a good way of exploring certain things I have heard and want to learn more about…Hope you are enjoying it too 🙂 I enjoyed reading your A-Zs so far 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s