‘G’ is for Gratitude

Gratitude[1]

I have learnt over the years, perhaps through meditation or perhaps just through getting older and (apparently) wiser, to be grateful for what I have got.

It’s all too easy to wish you had someone else’s life and blessings, to experience pangs of envy and jealousy. But I read something a while ago about not comparing yourself to others as you are not on the same journey (well something more articulate than that, but you get the gist). Sometimes the charmed life you think others lead is not as you perceive it to be. Everyone has their bad times and hurdles to overcome, and perhaps they look at your life and think the same – that they would like what you have got? People often project, particularly on Facebook I find, what they want people to see, and you don’t see the challenging parts of their lives (unless they are the kind of person who puts their whole life on Facebook!).

Some people yearn for a life that is different to their own – whether that is wanting to find a partner, have children, be free to do what they want to do when they want to do it, have more money, have a better car, etc. etc. etc. I know I have been guilty of doing so in the past, but I have come to a point where I realised that I have enough : enough money to live, enough love and support around me to get me through the tough times, but also enough strength from within. And I am grateful for having all that I need.

Something I read in ‘Eat Pray Love’ recently links very well to this post – the Bhagavad Gita (an ancient Indian Yogic text) states that it is better to live your own destiny imperfectly than to live an imitation of somebody else’s life with perfection.

I have started living my own life happily.

Until tomorrow, love and happy days, sm x

5 thoughts on “‘G’ is for Gratitude

  1. It is true. I also envied others’ life until I realized the exact thing you’re saying. They do not have perfect lives either and there is a lot I don’t know I would not want to go through. I’ve learned to focus in my own life instead of others’ and seek ways to get what I want instead of longing for a better fate. It’s more productive. 😀
    Father Dragon Writes

  2. Pingback: ‘H’ is for Hearts | sharonmanship

Leave a Reply

