‘K’ is for Kindness (Loving)

loving-kindness[1]

In my opinion, loving kindness is one of the nicest things you can practice. To literally love and be kind to yourself. I first came across it at the end of a meditation session, where we were asked to repeat the words of a loving kindness mantra to ourselves after the meditation teacher had spoken them. We repeated the loving kindness three times. The first few times I did this it was both powerful and emotional. I think a lot of people are just not used to being nice to themselves.

We were then asked to bring someone to mind that we knew – whoever was first to come to mind was the right person – and repeat the loving kindness, but changing the word ‘I’ to ‘you’. We repeated this three times. Then we were asked to bring someone to mind that we didn’t know very well…again, the first person to come to mind was the right one, and repeated loving kindness three times again with a picture of them in our mind.

Loving kindness is now part of my daily routine. I say it to myself a few times each night before I go to sleep, and sometimes send others loving kindness that come to mind (although it is important to send it to youself first). There are many different versions that can be used. The words that I use are below:

May I be filled with loving kindness
May I be safe from inner and outer danger
May I be strong and well in body, heart and mind
May I be at ease and happy

Until tomorrow, love and be kind to yourself, sm x

4 thoughts on “‘K’ is for Kindness (Loving)

Leave a Reply

